Nucleus - Rory Clements | Readers First
Cover Image for Nucleus
From the award-winning Sunday Times bestselling author of CORPUS. A gripping spy thriller for fans of ROBERT HARRIS and WILLIAM BOYD

Nucleus

star unfilled star unfilled star unfilled star unfilled star unfilled (0)

The eve of war: a secret so deadly, nothing and no one is safe.

June 1939. England is partying like there is no tomorrow, gas masks at the ready. In Cambridge the May Balls are played out with a frantic intensity - but the good times won't last... In Europe, the Nazis have invaded Czechoslovakia, and in Germany he persecution of the Jews is now so widespread that desperate Jewish parents send their children to safety in Britain aboard the Kindertransport. Closer to home, the IRA's S-Plan bombing campaign has resulted in more than 100 terrorist outrages around England.

But perhaps the most far-reaching event of all goes largely unreported: in Germany, Otto Hahn has produced the first man-made fission and an atomic device is now a very real possibility. The Nazis set up the Uranverein group of physicists: its task is to build a superbomb. The German High Command is aware that British and US scientists are working on similar line. Cambridge's Cavendish Laboratory is where the atom was split in 1932. Might the Cambridge men now win the race for a nuclear bomb? Hitler's generals need to be sure they know all the Cavendish's secrets. Only then will it be safe for Germany to wage war.

When one of the Cavendish's finest brains is murdered, Professor Tom Wilde is once more drawn into an intrigue from which there seems no escape. In a conspiracy that stretches from Cambridge to Berlin and from Washington DC to the west coast of Ireland, he faces deadly forces that threaten the fate of the world.

See more details about this Book

Tell us what you think:

Author

Thumb

Rory Clements

Rory Clements was born on the edge of England in Dover, the son of a Royal Naval officer and a former WREN. Since 2007, Rory has been writing full-time in a quiet corner of Norfolk, England, where he lives with his family. He won the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award in 2010 for his second novel, Revenger. A TV series of the John Shakespeare novels is currently in development by the team behind POLDARK and ENDEAVOUR. Rory is also the award-winning Sunday Times bestselling author of CORPUS.

Book Details

Publisher Zaffre
Genre Historical fiction
Released on 25/01/18
Pages 384
ISBN 9781785763717
Price £12.99

Books of the same Genre

Books by the same Author

Books by the same Publisher