The Second Child - Caroline Bond | Readers First
Cover Image for The Second Child
What if you found out that the child you love belongs to someone else? A breathtaking and heart-rending debut novel about the bond of family and the limits of love. For fans of Jojo Moyes, Liane Moriarty, Jodi Picoult, and Amanda Brooke.

The Second Child

filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled (136)
Print copy

Why do you love your child? Is it because they're a straight A student, a talented footballer? Or is it simply because they're yours?

Sarah and Phil love both their children, James and Lauren. The couple have the same hopes and aspirations as any parent. But their expectations are shattered when they discover that their perfect baby daughter has been born with a flaw; a tiny, but life-changing glitch that is destined to shape her future, and theirs, irrevocably.

Over time the family adapt and even thrive. Then one day a blood test casts doubt on the very basis of their family. Lauren is not Phil's child. Suddenly, their precious family is on the brink of destruction. But the truth they face is far more complex and challenging than simple infidelity. It tests their capacity to love, each other and their children, and it raises the question of what makes - and what breaks - a family.

See more details about this Book

Author

Caroline Bond

Caroline Bond was born in Scarborough and studied English at Oxford University before working as a market researcher for 25 years. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Leeds Trinity University, and lives in Leeds with her husband and three children.

Book Details

Publisher Corvus
Genre Contemporary Fiction
Released on 22/03/18
Pages 320
ISBN 9781786493354
Price £12.99

Reviews

First Impressions

Books of the same Genre

Books by the same Author

Books by the same Publisher