Cover Image for The Woman in the Photograph

From the acclaimed author of LOST FOR WORDS comes a spellbinding novel to change the way you see the world . . .

The Woman in the Photograph

filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled (279)
Print copy

An empowering, feminist and moving novel that will change the way you see the world. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon.

  1. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is frustrated by her (male) colleagues' failure to take her seriously. And then she meets Leonie on the picket line of the Ford factory at Dagenham. So begins a tumultuous, passionate and intoxicating friendship. Leonie is ahead of her time and fighting for women's equality with everything she has. She offers Veronica an exciting, free life at the dawn of a great change. Fifty years later, Leonie is gone, and Veronica leads a reclusive life. Her groundbreaking career was cut short by one of the most famous photographs of the twentieth century.

Now, that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie's niece. Long-repressed memories of Veronica's extraordinary life begin to stir. It's time to break her silence, and step back into the light.

See more details about this Book

Author

© Carliol Photography

Stephanie Butland

Stephanie Butland lives with her family near the sea in the North East of England. She writes in a studio at the bottom of her garden, and when she's not writing, she trains people to think more creatively. For fun, she reads, knits, sews, bakes and spins.

Book Details

Publisher Zaffre
Genre Contemporary Fiction
Released on 11/07/19
Pages 384
ISBN 9781785768965
Price £8.99

Reviews

First Impressions

Books of the same Genre

Books by the same Author

Books by the same Publisher