Munmun - Jesse Andrews | Readers First
Cover Image for Munmun
A powerful and hilarious novel which is both a sheer pleasure to read and a scathing takedown of inequality in the modern world. For fans of Douglas Adams, Kurt Vonnegut, A Clockwork Orange and Gary Shteyngart's Super Sad True Love Story.

Munmun

filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled (148)

In an alternate reality a lot like our world, every person's physical size is directly proportional to their wealth. The poorest of the poor are the size of rats, and billionaires are the size of skyscrapers.

Warner and his sister Prayer are destitute - and tiny. Their size is not just demeaning but dangerous: day and night they face mortal dangers that bigger, richer people don't ever have to think about, from being mauled by cats to their house getting stepped on. There are no cars or phones built small enough for them, or schools or hospitals, for that matter - there's no point, when no one that little has any purchasing power, and when salaried doctors and teachers would never fit in buildings so small. Warner and Prayer know their only hope is to scale up, but how can two littlepoors survive in a world built against them?

Brilliant, warm and funny, this is a social novel for our times in the tradition of 1984 or the work of Douglas Adams.

See more details about this Book

Author

Thumb
© Tamara Reichberg

Jesse Andrews

Jesse Andrews is the New York Times bestselling author of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and the screenwriter of that book's Sundance Grand Jury Prize-winning movie adaptation. He's also the author of The Haters. He lives in Brooklyn.

Book Details

Publisher Allen & Unwin
Genre Contemporary Fiction
Released on 05/07/18
Pages 416
ISBN 9781760633455
Price £12.99

Reviews

First Impressions

Books of the same Genre

Books by the same Author

Books by the same Publisher