The Turn of Midnight - Minette Walters | Readers First
Cover Image for The Turn of Midnight
The exquisitely wrought and thrillingly gripping second novel set during the time of the Black Death from Minette Walters.

The Turn of Midnight

filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled (150)

As the year 1349 approaches, the Black Death continues its devastating course across England. In Dorseteshire, the quarantined people of Develish question whether they are the only survivors.

Guided by their beloved young mistress, Lady Anne, they wait, knowing that when their dwindling stores are finally gone they will have no choice but to leave. But where will they find safety in the desolate wasteland outside?

One man has the courage to find out.

Thaddeus Thurkell, a free-thinking, educated serf, strikes out in search of supplies and news. A compelling leader, he and his companions quickly throw off the shackles of serfdom and set their minds to ensuring Develish's future - and freedom for its people.

But what use is freedom that cannot be gained lawfully? When Lady Anne and Thaddeus conceive an audacious plan to secure her people's independence, neither foresees the life-threatening struggle over power, money and religion that follows...

This is the sequel to The Last Hours which was published to critical acclaim in November 2017. For fans of Ken Follett, C.J. Sansom, Diana Gabaldon, Rory Clements, Bernard Cornwell, Liz Fremantle, Kate Mosse, Alison Weir, Jessie Burton, Sarah Perry, Tracy Chevalier, Francis Spufford and Conn Iggulden.

See more details about this Book

Author

Thumb

Minette Walters

Minette Walters is one of the world's best-selling crime writers. She is the author of twelve novels, winning the CWA John Creasey Award for The Ice House, the Edgar Allan Poe Award in America for The Sculptress and two CWA Gold Daggers for The Scold's Bridle and Fox Evil. The Last Hours marks an exciting new direction for Minette. She lives in Dorset with her husband.

Book Details

Publisher Allen & Unwin
Genre Historical fiction
Released on 04/10/18
Pages 464
ISBN 9781760632168
Price £18.99

Reviews

First Impressions

Books of the same Genre

Books by the same Author

Books by the same Publisher